our mission
The Anacapa Society promotes research in all areas of theoretical and computational physics at primarily undergraduate institutions. The Society facilitates professional contacts and collaboration, and supports the distinctive role theorists at undergraduate institutions can play in physics, the intellectual community, and the broader world.
Anacapa member Prof. Lea Santos wins NSF CAREER award Anacapa Society member Prof. Lea Santos of Yeshiva University has been awarded a presitigious CAREER award from the National Science Foundation. Her five-year grant will run from 2012 to 2017, with funds totaling $475,000, and will allow her and a post-doctoral researcher to conduct “Studies of Dynamics and Control of Quantum Many-Body Systems Far from Equilibrium.” Congratulations!
Darrell Schroeter named third KITP-Anacapa Scholar, joins Datta and Small The Anacapa Society is pleased to announce that the Anacapa Society KITP Scholar for 2011 is Darrell Schroeter of Reed College. Dr. Schroeter’s work in promoting physics research in undergraduate institutions, both broadly as well as in his own field of theoretical condensed matter physics, prepares him to aid the nation’s theoretical physics endeavors. more>>
Anacapa Society Box 2244A Amherst College Amherst, MA 01002-5000